« More

The Silph League Arena

Arena Update

Jul 25, 2023: Worlds 2023: Player Seeding

The stage is set for an epic showdown as the four Continental Champions have emerged! They will soon face off against other top Arena competitors to determine who truly stands at the pinnacle of the PvP world.

A total of sixteen competitors have been invited to participate in the prestigious 2023 Silph Arena World Championship. Alongside our four Continental Champions, the remaining twelve seats will be filled by 8 of the top Continental competitors (2 per region), the Battle Tower Champion, the 2022 Silph Arena World Champion and the top two Competitors from the Global Rank Leaderboard.


The 16 World Challengers will face each other in a remote, real-time, Double-Elimination style bracket that will begin on July 29th at 17:00 UTC. The seeding will be as follows:

  • NA1 vs APAC3
  • EMEA2 vs APAC2
  • EMEA3 vs LATAM1
  • BT1 vs GR2
  • WC1 vs GR1
  • NA3 vs APAC1
  • NA2 vs LATAM2
  • EMEA1 vs LATAM3

To avoid having “Byes” in the Tournament, if a Competitor who qualified based on their results in a qualifying tournament (2023 Continentals, 2023 Battle Tower, or the Prior Season’s World Championship) withdraws before play begins, the highest finishing competitor available from their region’s Continental who is not already in the tournament will be added to it. If a vacancy arises based on Global Rank, it will be filled based on Global Rank. If vacancies mean that a competitor would now qualify based on both Contientals performance and on Global Rank, the Continentals performance takes priority.

For example, if the second-place finisher of the NA Continental Championships declines to participate, the third-place finisher will be seeded in the tournament as if they were the second-place finisher. Consequently, the fourth-place finisher will be added to the tournament to become the third NA seed. However, if the fourth-place finisher was already qualified for the tournament based on their Global Rank, then the next highest global ranking Competitor will be added to the tournament to ensure that we have a total of 16 participants.

Please note that this is just the initial matchups for the first round, and the winners and losers will progress through the bracket accordingly based on the Double-Elimination format.


As a reminder, the Championships Meta commemorates the legacy of the Arena, and Competitors are required to select a Starter Pokémon, some of the most iconic picks from all four previous Arena Seasons, and a Legendary or Mythical Pokémon (that is not Registeel). Each category has its own pre-approved list of eligible Pokémon. Shadow Pokémon are eligible, but Mega Evolutions are banned. Here is the list of available Pokémon and slots:

  • Slot 1 – Starter Pokémon: Any starter Pokémon or their evolutions from Generations 1 to 7 (Kanto to Alola) are eligible.
  • Slot 2 – 2019 Season: Alolan-Raichu, Ninetales, Golbat, Venomoth, Magneton, Noctowl, Xatu, Azumarill, Quagsire, Forretress, Skarmory, Gardevoir, Vigoroth, Medicham, Flygon, Altaria, Whiscash, Tropius, Bastiodon, Lucario, Toxicroak.
  • Slot 3 – 2019-2020 Season: Beedrill, Alolan-Sandslash, Alolan-Ninetales, Wigglytuff, Poliwrath, Alolan-Graveler, Alolan-Muk, Alolan-Marowak, Lapras, Snorlax, Dragonair, Sudowoodo, Jumpluff, Umbreon, Kingdra, Shiftry, Dusclops, Bibarel, Wormadam (Trash), Vespiquen, Skuntank, Bronzong, Gliscor, Probopass, Scrafty, Galvantula, Ferrothorn.
  • Slot 4 – 2020-2021 Season: Raichu, Nidoqueen, Primeape, Victreebel, Dewgong, Hypno, Lanturn, Politoed, Mantine, Sableye, Cradily, Castform (Normal), Castform (Rainy), Drifblim, Munchlax, Gallade, Froslass, Whimsicott, Escavalier, Jellicent, Galarian-Stunfisk, Stunfisk, Mandibuzz, Talonflame.
  • Slot 5 – 2021-2022 Season: Pidgeot, Machamp, Muk, Lickitung, Dragonite, Steelix, Heracross, Magcargo, Pelipper, Milotic, Walrein, Drapion, Abomasnow, Crustle, Cofagrigus, Zweilous, Litleo, Slurpuff, Malamar, Dragalge, Dedenne, Gourgeist, Lurantis, Bewear, Oranguru, Greedent, Obstagoon.
  • Slot 6 – Legendary/Mythicals: Articuno, Galarian Articuno, Zapdos, Galarian Zapdos, Moltres, Galarian Moltres, Mew, Mewtwo, Raikou, Entei, Suicune, Lugia, Ho-Oh, Celebi, Regirock, Regice, Latias, Latios, Kyogre, Groudon, Rayquaza, Jirachi, Deoxys, Deoxys (Attack), Deoxys (Defense), Deoxys (Speed), Uxie, Mesprit, Azelf, Dialga, Palkia, Heatran, Regigigas, Giratina, Cresselia, Darkrai, Shaymin, Shaymin (Sky), Cobalion, Terrakion, Virizion, Tornadus, Tornadus (Therian), Thundurus, Thundurus (Therian), Landorus, Landorus (Therian), Kyurem, Victini, Keldeo, Genesect, Meloetta, Xerneas, Yveltal, Hoopa (Confined), Hoopa (Unbound), Tapu-Koko, Tapu-Bulu, Tapu-Fini, Tapu-Lele, Cosmog, Cosmoem, Solgaleo, Lunala, Nihilego, Buzzwole, Pheromosa, Xurkitree, Celesteela, Kartana, Guzzlord, Meltan, Melmetal, Zacian, Zamazenta, Regieleki, Regidrago, Zarude.


The Arena will provide continuous updates on all the action through our various channels. Be sure to follow us on social media for live updates during each round, detailed information about the competitors and their teams, and much more! For an immersive experience, tune into the real-time Twitch stream to witness the battles as they unfold and share the excitement with viewers from around the world. Stay tuned to our socials for further details on the Streaming schedule and the talented individuals joining us to make this final Silph Arena event truly exceptional!

« More

©2024 The Silph Road | All Rights Reserved | @SilphGG | /r/TheSilphArena
Pokémon And All Respective Names are Trademark & © of Nintendo 1996-2024
Pokémon GO is Trademark & © of Niantic, Inc.
The Silph League Arena, Silph.gg, and The Silph Road are not affiliated with Niantic Inc., The Pokemon Company, or Nintendo.
For inquiries, contact Team@TheSilphRoad.com